animal_collective_merriweather

This image has been memorized onto my retinas for the past few months. This album cover will be burned into our memories as one of the best albums to be released in 2009 and probably one of the most inventive albums in a long long while.

Animal Collective’s album is due to drop in less than two weeks but music bloggers everywhere have pretty much been looping this for months now. I’ve read a lot of reviews, most of which are good, especially P4K’s 9.6 review on MPP.

Animal Collective consists of Avey Tare (David Portner), Panda Bear (Noah Lennox), Deakin (Josh Dibb), and Geologist (Brian Weitz). All are from Baltimore, Maryland but are based out of New York. Each of them do have side projects but when they colloborate together, they create a psychadelic noise, chaotic ambience, mesmorizing vocals and synths. They are years ahead of their time, as most great legends in art tend to be.

Together, they’ve released 9 LPs to date, ‘though not all releases consist of all four band members. AC finally started getting recognition with the release of Sung Tongs (2004). With each subsequent release, Feels (2005), Strawberry Jam (2007), Animal Collective becomes less and less obtuse, more accessible for the pop audience, less chaotic, and more universally audio-friendly.

Their upcoming release Merriweather Post Pavilion has been looping on my mediaplayer for months now. The rumors and sayings of this being the best album ALREADY of 2009 is not far from the truth. There is absolutely nothing wrong with MPP. Trust me, I’ve been trying to look for faults, inconsistencies, but I simply can’t hear them. The production is perfect. The vocals are smooth, meticulously executed and heartfelt. It is lyrically provoking. The beats and rhythms are inventive, original, and catchy. It feels like a faster paced version of Junior Boy’s So This is Goodbye mixed in with speed induced Panda Bear’s Person Pitch and Fuck Buttons’ Street Horrrrsing and a bit of Black Dice.

Is it much to admit I need
A solid soul and the blood I bleed
With a little girl, and by my spouse
I only want a proper house

I can see why people don’t like Animal Collective, or don’t think this album nor any of their previous albums to deserve such high rankings in top albums lists. But that’s only because people aren’t giving it enough chances. I know for me it took me more than a few listens to realise how wonderfully genious these guys are.

I don’t care for fancy things
Or to take part in a precious race
And children cry for the one who has
A real big heart and a father’s grace

It’s polarized. You’re either gonna hate it or love it. If you’re an AC newbie, I suggest you pick yourself up this album to familiarize yourself for the awesomeness that is Animal Collective. Give it a chance, try to make it through the album a few times because trust me, it’s worth it. And ‘though MPP is the most accessible of AC’s albums, it’s certainly not their best. I hope you end up loving it ’cause all their other LPs, despite being more chaotic and fundamentally different like Radiohead’s Hail to the Thief in terms of experimentation, are magnficent, cathartic, and induce heavenly states of audio bliss.

I don’t mean to seem like I care about material things like a social status
I just want four walls and adobe slabs for my girls

So, instead of getting an email by the Websherrif, I leave you with their live performance of one of my favorite songs off this album, “My Girls”,  at Coachella 2008 (soooo excited for Coachella 2009!).

I give Merriweather Post Pavilion a 9.5/10.

Oh, it turns out “My Girls” is actually an homage to Frankie Knuckles‘ (legendary Chi-town house DJ!!!…maybe that’s why I love this song so much) “Your Love”. Check out the remix!

MP3: Frankie Knuckles vs Animal Collective – Your Love My Girls

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

