atm-jenngrantface

I’m gonna come right out and say it. I love Jenn Grant.
I love you, Jenn Grant.
Would you do me the honor of marrying me and having my babies?

Jenn Grant was born in PEI but later moved to and currently resides in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Her first LP Orchestra for the Moon exposed her wonderful and most magnificent voice to the world. Her enchanting melodies and vocals continue to be showcased in her recent release Echoes.

atm-jenngrant

I’ve been listening to this LP non-stop for almost a week now and the entire time I was trying to think of who she reminded me of. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it but decided that her sound is a mixture of Sarah Slean’s quirkiness and piano drops, Norah Jone’s sultriness, the folk that is Regina Spektor and Sinead O’Connor’s ability to make your heart melt with one stroke of her chords.

Echoes is absolutely brilliant. I swear if she stripped all the violin, the piano, the drums, the guitar, the bass, and all the instruments in between away and left just her voice on her tracks, every one would still touch your soul to it’s deepest core, rendering it completely vulnerable to the pains Grant exposes in her emotionally entrenching lyrics.

To be honest, for the first half of the week I couldn’t get past “Parachutes”. I was stuck on repeat for half a week on that song. It is by far my favorite.  The song starts slow, it meanders in the undercurrents of a love unclaimed. Then she breaks into full flight, opening up the wings of her soul, letting the seas, oceans, and earth below her hear the strength of her love rediscovered.

Echoes is painfully intimate. Her voice is wavering, ready at any moment to crackle, wail, cry, and shout. Ready to change it’s trajectory with a simple push. It’s vulnerable. But at the same time, it’s impact is long lasting and limitless, never will you forget the highs and lows of her cooing or the delicateness of each chord, so delicate that if done too harshly or too softly the integrity of the entire composition would be compromised. One thing’s for sure, after listening to this LP, Jenn Grant is going to be more than Halifax’s favorite female vocalist.

I give Jenn Grant – Echoes an 8.8 out of 10!

MP3: Jenn Grant – Parachutes

MP3: Jenn Grant – Everybody Loves You

MP3: Jenn Grant – Sailing By Silverships

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

