atm-vanmorrison02atm-vanmorrison03

Not seeing the renowned, transcendent Van Morrison a few years back at the Montreal Jazz Festival is one of my biggest regrets. Van Morrison. A name that joins the ranks of unforgettable music legends amongst the likes of Bob Dylan, Neil Young, and Joni Mitchell. Van Morrison. Who has touched the souls of millions with his harmonica, guitar, and saxophone infused discography. Van Morrison.  An atmosphere of erected goosebumps, swaying bodies, and closed eyes. Van Morrison. The most omnipresent feeling of pure love.

atm-vanmorrison

Van Morrison has been making music since the 50’s. The most renowned album of his over thirty LP discography, of what I’ve listened, is Astral Weeks. An album so true to it’s name, an album so beautiful and touching that it doesn’t seem possible for such a thing to exist in reality. An album so sublime that Van Morrison himself did a small tour just performing Astral Weeks tracks. Wow. Heaven. I was recently reminded of Morrison when he performed “Sweet Thing” on the premiere of Jimmy Fallon–which was the best part of the show. Ever since, I’ve been spinning Van Morrison non-stop.

Van Morrison recently released Live at the Hollywood Bowl: Astral Weeks, a DVD of Astral Weeks live. Live, Van Morrison doesn’t attempt to replicate the album, but rather makes it more complimentary to the man who is performing it more than 40 years later. No longer the young boy who once released Astral Weeks unbeknownst to most, Van Morrison performs this album with the past 50 years on his shoulders, his journeys, triumphs, and spirituality on the table of self-reflection, his transcendence on the stage for thousands to share. Astral Weeks (1968) is one of the best albums ever created and is one of the most inventive and satisfying records that everyone should hear at least once.

I could not find the Jimmy Fallon performance, which was absolutely magnificent, but did find a clip of his live Hollywood Bowl performance. You can buy this DVD here, Astral Weeks here, and the rest of his discography here.

MP3: Van Morrison – Sweet Thing

You can watch a higher quality version at Van Morrison’s website.

And I will stroll the merry way
And jump the hedges first
And I will drink the clear
Clean water for to quench my thirst
And I shall watch the ferry-boats
And they’ll get high
On a bluer ocean
Against tomorrow’s sky
And I will never grow so old again
And I will walk and talk
In gardens all wet with rain

Oh sweet thing, sweet thing
My, my, my, my, my sweet thing
And I shall drive my chariot
Down your streets and cry
‘Hey, it’s me, I’m dynamite
And I don’t know why’
And you shall take me strongly
In your arms again
And I will not remember
That I even felt the pain.
We shall walk and talk
In gardens all misty and wet with rain
And I will never, never, never
Grow so old again.

Oh sweet thing, sweet thing
My, my, my, my, my sweet thing
And I will raise my hand up
Into the night time sky
And count the stars
That’s shining in your eye
Just to dig it all an’ not to wonder
That’s just fine
And I’ll be satisfied
Not to read in between the lines
And I will walk and talk
In gardens all wet with rain
And I will never, ever, ever, ever
Grow so old again.
Oh sweet thing, sweet thing
Sugar-baby with your champagne eyes.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

