atm-mstrkrft

MSTRKRFT is an electronic dance music group hailing from Toronto. The group is formed by Jesse F. Keeler, formerly a member of Death From Above 1979 and Al-P, formerly a member of Girlsareshort. Thus far, they’ve only released one LP back in 2006 The Looks and a kajillion remixes in between. I really do mean a kajillion. Name any artist and I assure you there’s a MSTRKRFT remix of their song or one in the works. Their second album Fist of God is released today. I’d rather have their remixes to be honest…

atm-mstrkrftfistofgodatm-mstrkrftfistofgod

I had this post written over a month ago and was asked to take it down by Dim Mak. Unfortunately nothing has changed since then so if you’ve already read this when it was public for about 3 days, sorry, you can move on to my other post on MSTRKRFT where I’ve posted music remixed by them that won’t taste so sour. So to continuing a month long momentum…I am so unimpressed with the new Fist of God LP. I had pretty low expectations and even LOWER expectations when I saw how shitty the album artwork is. As Kanye would say, “WhatTF is that?!”. But let’s not judge from the cover, is what I say to myself. The Looks wasn’t tooooo bad. Let’s give ’em a chance amidst all this overblown hype! I tried. I really did. And I could only get through it twice ’cause it is SO boring. Korg MS-20 x infinite. Dull.

Yeah their previous LP had lots of cameos from cool peeps just as this one does, with appearances by N.O.R.E., Freeway, John Legend, and Ghostface kakakaka Killah. But man their sound just gets so old. It’s essentially “1000 Cigarettes” times 11 tracks…minus “Heartbreaker” which I really like maybe because of John Legend and maybe because it is the least MSTRKRFTY sounding track on FOG.

I’ve never really liked MSTRKRFT LPs. I only like their remixes ’cause it seems as though when they have something to work with rather than nitpicking from scratch, they make better music. Their remixes are fun! Funky, grimy, retro, disco, synthy. With a different palette to work with, MSTRKRFT branch into their talents better. Unfortunately, tabula rasa just doesn’t quite work very well for them. Exact variables, exact formulas, exact outcome. Srsly unoriginal. Having no change isn’t bad sometimes, but when it’s not that great to begin with, it is. It’s a good thing their live shows are melt faces.

I give MSTRKRFT – Fist of God a 4.9 out of 10.

Buy Fist of God here.
Check out some of my favorite remixes from them here.

MP3: MSTRKRFT – 1000 Cigarettes

MP3: MSTRKRFT ft. John Legend – Heartbreaker

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

