atm-prince

Prince is one of my top artists of all time. Magnificent entertainer, unrelentingly tireless performer, and probably one of the best guitarists and artists of our time. I remember how I welled up inside, when Coachella last year announced that Prince would be on the bill. I remember my excitement, waiting in the shadows of Portishead’s immaculate performance, knowing that Prince would be on next.

Though he was late, making everyone wait nearly an hour, with jeers here and there about how he was probably just eating cereal in the back–these were not true fans–restless I was not. I made my way from the back of the grounds to within 25 feet of the stage, nurturing my sides with my elbows and contorting my body through the already condensed and populous crowd of 50, 000. I finally made it into a good space, enough room to dance, enough room to breath, and was with a good crowd of people with whom I felt a connected excited electricity with.

Then he came on and my dream of seeing Prince live was realised. Never would I have imagined I’d be able to see Prince so close, for so cheap, for so long. He played his heart out, covering songs from the Beatles and Radiohead. He played above and beyond the time constraints Coachella organizers allowed for, claiming he’ll pay the fine. FROM THIS POINT FORWARD, THIS IS PRINCE’S HOUSE. No one could disagree. I was crying. Crying and singing and dancing and repeating it for over two hours. Everyone else around me was singing along with tears streaking down. It was such a memorable overwhelming moment to experience a Living Legend, Prince.

People hate on Prince all the time. But these people just don’t understand why people like me adore him so much, why he’ll go down in the Hall of Fame as one of the Best.

Prince is to release his 3CD album, MPLSoUND, LOtUSFLOW3R, and Exile via Target on March 29th for TWELVE DOLLARS. Oh. My. God. I cannot wait to get my hands on a solid copy. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

In the meanwhile, watch his “Ol’ Skool Company” performance off MPLSoUND on Jay Leno. Not gonna lie, I got a bit aroused. This man is amazing. Respect.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

