atm-zee avi

You know when you look at an artist and get some weird preconception of how they’d sound? And most of the time, it’s not that far off? Well a lil’ lady by the name of Zee Avi popped up in my inbox the other day and after watching her “Bitter Heart” video, which you can watch below, I was completely blown away and I immediately got the album. I have yet to listen to it as I’m catching up on some old new stuff but a review will come in a few weeks, hopefully. She goes by the name of Koko Kaina and she’s from Malaysia. She’s 23 but she is such an old soul. I fell in love with her smile and her voice. She sounds like Regina Spektor, Jenn Grant, a bit of Feist, and the Hawaiian that is Jack Johnson all rolled into one! How great! Her three minute rendition is filled with insouciant folk and heartfelt lyricism and vocal perfection. The last 20 seconds of this song makes my heart split into a million butterflies. Watch the video and see what I mean!

Her album drops May 19th, I’m defs going to shell out the dollars for this one. Buy the album and watch Koko talk about her influences and the process of making her first self titled debut here. She’ll also be playing at Bonnaroo coming up!

MP3: Zee Avi – Bitter Heart

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

