yay-Max Dalton

Oasis is one of my top five bands of all time. People always talk shit about Oasis, saying that they’re a bunch of drunk and coked up fucks that didn’t make music and aren’t half as good as the Beatles. Well, back then, they were drunk, and they did do a lot of drugs, but they made music, good music, that made them one of the biggest UK bands in the world. Some might say, even bigger than the Beatles.

Regardless of whatever beefs people have with Oasis, people seem to forget that they’re more than just their “Champagne Supernova”, “Wonderwall”, brotherly bickering, and inebriated belligerence. Where is the talk about their music? Everything up to Heathen Chemistry is gold. Pure gold. Their lyrics are real and heart felt. Musically, their composition is incredible, delivering catchy, sing-along-able alt rock songs. Everything past Heathen Chemistry, however, kinda blows in comparison, sadly. Maybe that’s why they’re being put on the back burner now? I dunno.

I am always so surprised to hear that Oasis isn’t a treasured favorite in a lot of people’s “Favorite’s” list. That happened to me today so I decided to share two of many Oasis favorites. I love Oasis. After the jump!

atm-oasis

“Slide Away”

Slide away, and give it all you’ve got
My today, fell in from the top
I dream of you, and all the things you say
I wonder where you are now?

Hold me down, cause all the world’s asleep
I need you now, you’ve knocked me off my feet,
I dream of you, we talk of growing old
But you said please don’t…

Slide in baby, together we’ll fly
I’ve tried praying, but I don’t know what you’re saying to me

Now that you’re mine
We’ll find a way
Of chasing the sun
Let me be the one, that shines with you
in the morning, I don’t know what to do
two of a kind
We’ll find a way
To do what we’ve done
Let me be the one, that shines with you
And we can slide away, slide away, slide away, away…

Slide away, and give it all you’ve got
My today, fell in from the top
I dream of you, and all the things you say
I wonder where you are now?

Slide in baby, together we’ll fly
I’ve tried praying, and I know just what you’re saying to me

Now that you’re mine
We’ll find a way
Of chasing the sun
Let me be the one that shines with you
in the morning when you don’t know what to do
two of a kind
We’ll find a way
To do what we’ve done
Oh, let me be the one
That shines with you, and we can slide away…

Slide away, slide away, slide away, slide away
(and I wanna try now, i wanna make you mine now) x 3

I don’t know, I don’t care, all I know is you can take me there x 5
(Slide away…)
Take me there

MP3: Oasis – Slide Away

“Talk Tonight”—it was inspired by an incident that occurred during Oasis’ first trip to the US. The trip did not go well, Noel and the band hated Americans. After a horrible show in LA, where most of the band was high on meth, Noel quit the band and flew to San Francisco. None of the band knew where he was for days. Their manager finally got hold of him, and Noel vowed to him that he would never return to Oasis. He was frustrated with the business, hated the United States and was sick of Liam (Noel walked out on the band after a physical fight with Liam because Liam had made insulting comments about his then wife Meg Matthews). The manager and Noel decided to take a trip to Vegas – he thought it would be a good way for Noel to clear his head. At a bar in Vegas, a woman from Philadelphia approached Noel and told him he looked just like George Harrison and asked if he was a musician. He told her he “was in a band.” She and Noel got to talking and she started telling him about her own fascination with the Beatles and how she saw them in concert when she was a teenager. This woman, her newlywed husband, the manager and Noel hung out all night drinking and talking about music. The next day Noel decided to join the band at a studio date they had in Texas. This woman reaffirmed Noel’s commitment to the band’s success and made him realize that it was worth bringing his music to America. As a thank you to this woman, Noel wrote “Talk Tonight” and as an attempt to reconcile the sibling rivalry that had always exsited between Noel and Liam since Noel joined the Rain.

Sittin’ on my own
Chewin’ on a bone
A thousand million
Miles from home
When Something hit me
Somewhere right between the eyes

Sleepin’ on a plane
You know you can’t complain
You took your last chance
Once again
I landed, stranded
Hardly even knew your name

I wanna talk tonight
Until the mornin’ light
‘Bout how you saved my life
You and me see how we are
You and me see how we are

All your dreams are made
Of Strawberry lemonade
And you make sure
I eat today
You take me walking
To where you played
When you were young

I’ll never say that I
Won’t ever make you cry
And this I’ll say
I don’t know why
I know I’m leavin’
But I’ll be back another day

I wanna talk tonight
Until the mornin’ light
‘Bout how you saved my life
(You saved my life)
I wanna talk tonight

I wanna talk tonight
I wanna talk tonight
I wanna talk tonight

MP3: Oasis – Talk Tonight

Buy Oasis works here!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

