yay-erik johansson

As most of you probably know, Pitchfork (a supposedly very pretentious site and is hated by people who are so over knowing songs other people know because knowing songs that other people know is so uncool) made a Top 500 Songs of the Decade list. I didn’t have enough time to read through the ENTIRE 500 song list but when I saw the Top 20, I knew I had to see it. And wow, I think this is the first list BY Pitchfork or ANYONE ELSE for that matter, that I really, really, really agree with it. The list after the jump!

Pitchfork’s 20 Greatest Songs Of The ’00s
20 The Walkman – “The Rat” (2004)
19 R. Kelly – “Ignition (Remix)”
 (2002)
18 Hercules and Love Affair – “Blind” (2008)
17 Annie -“Heartbeat” (2004)
16 The Rapture – “House of Jealous Lovers” (2002)
15 The Knife – “Heartbeats” (2002)
14 Jay-Z – “99 Problems” (2003)
13 LCD Soundsystem – “Losing My Edge” (2002)
12 OutKast – “Hey Ya!” (2003)
11 Gnarls Barkley – “Crazy” (2005)
10 Arcade Fire – “Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)” (2004)
09 Animal Collective – “My Girls” (2009)
08 Radiohead – “Idioteque” (2000)
07 Missy Elliott – “Get Ur Freak On” (2001)
06 Yeah Yeah Yeahs – “Maps” (2003)
05 Daft Punk – “One More Time” (2000)
04 Beyoncé [ft. Jay-Z] – “Crazy in Love” (2003)
03 M.I.A. (Feat. Bun B and Rich Boy) – “Paper Planes (Diplo Remix)” (2007)
02 LCD Soundsystem – “All My Friends” (2007)
01 OutKast – “B.O.B.” (2000)

I agree. Except why not just original “Paper Planes”? I don’t think any remix (even the Diplo one) surpassed the original in awesomeness. And ugh, the number one! I couldn’t agree more.

What I really got out of this list though was R. Kelly’s “Ignition”!!! HOLY BATMAN! I totally forgot about this song!! AND IT IS TRULY AMAZZZZING! I’ve been listening to it non-stop from morning until now! Even had it in my head at work. Everything is pretty much perfect about this song. So of the list, I decided to share this =)

What Pitchfork had to say about this particular song:

You have to work very hard indeed to sound this casual. “Ignition (Remix)” is a lazy, buzzed collage of a night on the town put together with a craftsman’s eye. The same trick– making meticulous detail sound almost improvised– is what made “Trapped in the Closet” so shockingly successful and replayable. Here R. Kelly isn’t telling a story so much as throwing out images, but the template is similar: a chassis of easy-rolling steppers’ music that can respond to the slightest change in the singer’s mood.

Not a phrase is wasted: When the Mountain Goats’ John Darnielle started a message board thread on 100 reasons for this song’s greatness, every single fraction of “Ignition (Remix)” got its own nomination (and the list went well beyond 100). Personal favorites– the cork-and-glasses onomatopoeia of “Cris-tal poppin'”; the five table-rapping beats that summon the chorus; and, inevitably, “bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce.” Every decade brings us songs whose purpose is simply to bottle the feeling of the best night out it’s possible to enjoy. Call it a service to history: if, as seems likely, future generations judge the 00s as an era of bubble-fuelled idiocy, we will at least be able to point to “Ignition (Remix)” and say, “Yes, but just hear how great it felt.” –Tom Ewing

MP3: R Kelly – Ignition (Remix)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

