atm-simian mobile disco temporary pleasure cover

I was looking super forward to Simian Mobile Disco (James Ford and Jas Shaw’s) new release, Temporary Pleasure, since the acclaimed Attack Decay Sustain Release infected electronic enthusiasts two years ago. Staying within familiar formulas, their first release “10 000 Horses Can’t Be Wrong” reminded me a lot of “Sleep Deprivation”, a track made for Ibiza. Temporary Pleasure as the name suggests, is a short 41 minute 10 track pithy album featuring Beth Ditto (The Gossip), Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip), and Gruff Rhys (Super Furry Animals). More after the jump!

atm-simian mobile disco

Unlike what we’ve heard on ADSR, where hard hitting pseudo disco and electro house channeled into a dance structure, Temporary Pleasure is an infusion of old school rave and 90’s Eurodisco into a pop structure. Songs like “Bad Blood” (a very Hot Chip-py song circa Coming On Strong), and “Cruel Intentions” are good examples of the clubbier, poppier tracks. Similar to their first LP, Temporary Pleasure holds rare gems like “Pinball” which really demonstrate SMD’s true predilection for avant-electronica (Telepathe’s participation in the making and recording of this song would also be a factor).

Overall, Temporary Pleasure is a pretty dece album. Short and sweet. All but a few songs I have put on repeat quite a bit. I prefer the first album to this one but it’s not a bad follow up! Buy it here!


MP3: Simian Mobile Disco – Cruel Intentions

MP3: Simian Mobile Disco – Pinball

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine