Hey guys, so sorry for be absent lately…and my Best of Lists STILL aren’t fully up jajajaj oops. I’ve been super busy lately and just haven’t had time. I’ve been behind on everything and by now I can write a Best of the Year so far list with all the good music I’ve been listening to jajaja. As to when the rest of my lists will be posted, I think it’ll be another two weeks when I actually have a break! This week I wanna start off with an already classic of 2010 and a classic in general.

• Four Tet: A few months back on my last post I was so fucking stoked for There Is Love In You to come out. He released a mini EP which contained his killer single “Love Cry” as well as a very abstract jazz piece called “Our Bells” which isn’t included in the LP. I’ve given TILIY about six listens now. The first listen blew. my. mind. Ugh so effin’ good with an opening track like “Angel Echoes”…leading into the dark beats of “Love Cry”. The more I listen the better the album gets. The tribal beats, the warping build-ups, and the steady backdrop rhythms are always forcing you forward, pushing you on. It’s the kinda music that is always good, no matter where and no matter what. I don’t have to be in the mood to listen to Four Tet. He puts my in the mood. Each wave is a persuasion and before you know if your head is filled with random bits and pieces of Hebden’s art, always floating…love cryyy looove crrrry loooove crrryyy….ugh this album is so good it makes me want to cry (Taha too). Maybe that’s why there’s a track called “Love Cry”…Hebden knew all along that this album is an opening and reciprocation of emotions: unfolding, circling, echoing, reversing…all names of tracks on this brilliant LP.

A+++++++++++++++++++++++

• Nas: The Illmatic is the greatest 40 minutes in hip-hop history. I don’t think there is a sentence that sums it up as well as this one. I’ve been in a Nas phase all last week and this classic LP was on repeat the most…this is one of my favorite tracks.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

