This list is definitely the smallest and less encompassing than the others simply because I’ve been revisiting a lot of old school hip-hop, rap, etc albums from the 90’s. Also, since this is my last part of of the Decade’s list, and it’s already the middle of February…going through my music library was definitely more of a skim…so sorry if you’re screaming at the computer wondering where certain artists are…jajaja 😉

I also decided to go over my Top Shows as well. Back in Edmonton, I averaged maybe 4/5 shows per month depending on the season…and now in Montréal I average that every 1/2 weeks! So a lot of names on this list will be moreso the last 3 years…shows that are much more recent and those beyond that were obviously unforgettable. I wish I had the time do to Top Shows according to genre because they really don’t compare to each other…but I did my best!

***Finally I am posting these decade end lists. Gaaah I love and hate lists. They enlighten me towards new music yet at the same time they’re ridiculously subjective. From one point to the next an album can be the best and not depending on the season, the weather, my emotions, whether I’m under the influence, yada yada yada. Because of all this, the numbers on my list aren’t a ranking system of worst to best—because I think they’re all equally fantastic—they’re simply a form of organization. But, a few times on the lists I will put a clear marker on the artist/album that I feel truly outranks the rest. It’s only here where I exercise a bit of hypocrisy.

I know I’ve left hundreds and hundreds of artists out. Making a “Top 10” list per sub-genre for the decade is trifling, I know. It really should be “Top 100” per sub genre. Every day I keep remembering ones I should add but I have too much music and too little time. I did my best with what I had and what I remember and the time I had! You’ll notice that a lot of the artists are from the last 5 years and that’s because my mecca of music is back home. Home home. Like where I was born jaja. So…sorry for the lack of early 2000 albums. =)

I also dislike one shot lists! You simply can’t compare down-tempo artists to dubstep artists, etc. So, I tried to organize artists into the genres I felt fit them best as opposed to putting them all in the same pool. But obviously some artists mix into the other genres or were put there even though they have a very specific genre of their own (avant-garde, balearic, etc etc). Gaaah and genre is so subjective as well. Bear with me and keep all this in mind! A lot of these artists are featured in my NYE and NYD mixtapes or have been blogged about! So check the mixtapes out or do a quick search on ATM if you feel like more sampling.

Other than that, happy reading and check out Part I and Part II!

Soul/Jazz/Funk/Blues

10. Norah Jones – Feels Like Home (2004)
09. Amy Winehouse – Back to Black (2006)

08. John Legend – Get Lifted (2004)
07.
[re:jazz] – nipponized (2008)

06. Parov Stelar – Daylight (2008)

05. Manu Chao – Proxima Estacion…Esperanza (2001)

04. Rodrigo y Gabriela – Rodrigo y Gabriela (2006)
03. David Rotundo – Blues Ignited (2003) ♥
02. Asa – Asha (2008)

01. Tribalistas – Tribalistas (2003)

Mentionables that couldn’t fit:

Juana Molina – Segundo (2003)
Floetry – Flo’ology (2005)
Juanes – Mi Sangre (2006)
Forro in the Dark – Bonfies of Sao Joao (2006)
Deweare – High Class Trauma (2007)
Ebrahim – Goldrush (2007)
Orgone – The Killion Floor (2007)
Funki Porcini – PLOD (2009)
Sola Rosa – Get It Together (2009)
Soulive – Up Here (2009)

Hip-Hop/Spoken Word

10. The Streets – Original Pirate Material (2002)
09.
Saul Williams – The Inevitable Rise and Liberatin of Niggy Tardust (2007)

08. A Gun Called Tension – A Gun Called Tension (2005)

07. Kanye West – Late Registration (2007)
06. Eminem – The Eminem Show (2002)
05. Lupe Fiasco – Food and Liquor (2006)
04. Juiceboxxx – R U There God? It’z Me, Juiceboxxx (2005)

03. Madcon – An InCONvenient Truth (2008)

02. Ghostface Killah – The Pretty Toney Album (2004)
01. Outkast – Stankonia (2000)

Mentionables that couldn’t fit:

The Pharcyde – Cydeways (2001)
Jurassic Five – Power in Numbers (2002)
Madvillain – Madvillainy (2004)Common – Be (2005)
Keny Arkana – Entre Ciment et Belle Étoile (2006)
Shane Koyczan – A Pretty Decent Caqpe in My Closet (2007)
Spank Rock – Bangers and Cash EP (2007)
Esau Mwamwaya – the Very Best (2008)
Lil’ Wayne – Tha Carter III (2008)
Santigold – Santogold (2008)
Madcon – So Dark the Con of Man (2008)
TTC – 36 15 (2006)
Clipse – ‘Til the Casket Drops (2009)
Drake – So Far Gone (2009)
Erykah Badu – Live (2009)
Jay-Z – Blueprint 3 (2009)
K’naan – Troubadour (2009)
Mos Def – The Ecstatic (2009)
Raekwon – Only Built For Cuban Linx II (2009)
Speech Debelle – Speech Therapy (2009)
Wiz Khalifa and Curren$y – How Fly (2009)

Top Shows of the Decade:

10. Weezer; Key Arena, Seattle, 2008
09.
Coldplay; Shaw Conference Centre, Edmonton, 2003
08. Beast; the Pawn Shop, Edmonton, 2009
07. Arcade Fire w/ LCD Soundsystem and The Gossip; Bank of America Arena, Seattle, 2007
06. Public Enemy, Erykah Badu; Bonnaroo, 2009
05. Prince, Portishead, Hot Chip, M.I.A., Modeselektor, Justice; Coachella, 2008
04. Jedi Electro w/ various guests; Le S.A.T., Montréal, 2009
03. Flying Lotus w/ My Man Henri; Club Lambi, Montréal, 2009
02. Radiohead; Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles, 2008
01. Daft Punk w/ Kavinsky and The Rapture; WaMu Theatre, Seattle, 2007

Mentionables that couldn’t fit:

Red Hot Chili Peppers; Rexall Place, Edmonton, 2006
Girl Talk; Club Soda, Montréal, 2007
Rufus Wainwright w/ Sarah Slean; Winspear Centre, Edmonton, 2007
Sunset Rubdown; the Velvet Underground, 2007
Madonna; Air Canada Centre, Toronto, 2008
Dan Deacon w/ Nuclear Power Plants; Il Motore, Montréal, 2009
K’naan; the Pawn Shop, Edmonton, 2009
Kylie Minogue, Hammerstein Ballroom, New York, 2009
Mother Mother, Junior Boys, TV on the Radio; the Starlight Room, Edmonton, 2009
Patrick Watson, Beirut; Montréal Jazz Festival 2009
Peaches, Métropolis, Montréal, 2009

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

